The Breakup

how-to-breakup

I’m ready to break up.  Maybe a trial separation. A divorce might be too final for the relationship we have. After all, we’ve been together for most of my life. One of my best memories of my silent partner is when I went to a restaurant called Farrell’s in the mall.  It was my birthday, and I was probably eight or nine.  My grandfather bought me the biggest jawbreaker I had ever seen.  I nursed the thing multi-colored ball, licking to see what color was next for months, savoring the sugary rock in a Ziploc bag.  Now, it seems pretty gross, but back then, I was in love.

Whether it was gathering up my change in college (when I should’ve been using it for laundry) and using it to buy pink Snowballs or cherry pies or hijacking cookies from the cafeteria, I’ve always been the one to eat dessert first. Life is short, right? To this day, I gravitate to the back of every menu first, at least scanning the desserts before I order my salad.

The thing is though, I’ve now grown tired of the stranger in my bed.  In fact, the stranger goes everywhere I go.  Whether it’s a public place or private sanctuary, the stranger won’t leave me alone.  When I walk, try on a new dress, or laugh, I feel the foreign shake of my new belly jiggle.  I try to suck it in like I always have—only now it rebels. It almost feels like it’s laughing at me for trying to suck it in.  With a belly that refuses to comply, I now have to get to the root of the problem. I must kick out my fake friend sugar even though it has comforted me through so many valleys. Admittedly, the comfort only lasts seconds to minutes, but it has felt good while it lasted.

This morning, I began the breakup (or redefinition of our relationship) by leaving sugar out of my morning coffee.  It’s a tiny step to most, but huge for me. Sure, I’ve done it tons of times before, but like an unhealthy relationship, I’ve always run back with open arms to the wickedly tasty treat hidden in far too many things to admit.  Now, it’s different.  The stranger in my middle is screaming for change.

I searched for scriptures to comfort me.  I can do all things through Christ.  Your body is a temple and not your own.  The race isn’t given to the swift or the strong, but to those who endure to the end. These are just some of the helpful scriptures that help, but one that has always helped me to push through difficulties has been Romans12:2, which says, “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.”  Before defeating any battle, we have to mentally prepare. One strategy that has been effective for me is to focus on the end goal.  I see myself without the extra weight.  It is possible. I remember seeing my book in print before it even happened. Now, I see books on the shelves, and it keeps me going.  It sounds simple, but it is powerful.  “Where there is no vision, the people perish” (Proverbs 29:18).

When I have the vision, I acknowledge and accept the difficulties that will come along with setting the goal. I can’t see a life without sugar, but I can see a life without a sugar addiction.  I envision a healthy relationship with food. It will help me to avoid getting taken off track by distractions and temptations. When I do eat sugar, I won’t have a feeling of failure and defeat because I have set a realistic goal and anticipated at least some of the obstacles.

Maybe your thing isn’t a sugar addiction. Maybe it’s more complicated. It might be a chemical dependency, a relationship, or other bad habit. Today is a good day to decide to break up with anything or anyone who is holding you back from being the best you that you can be.  As cheesy as it sounds, it’s true.  There is only one you.  You are special.  We can’t give our best when we are in bondage of any kind.  Christ gives us freedom, and addiction of any kind is bondage.  I might feel free the moment the sugar touches my tongue, but the effects are damaging to my mind, body and soul.  It’s this way with most of the things that can cause us to be in bondage. I dare you to test yourself. Don’t allow yourself to make excuses for your behavior.  (For example, my excuses have been things like, I’m getting older, and my metabolism has slowed down. I’ve had three kids. I’m under stress. I’m big boned. Etc., etc.)  Think past the moment and focus of the enduring effects of your decisions.  You just might just decide, like me, that it’s time for a break up.

 

5 thoughts on “The Breakup

  1. I so needed this today. 1 week no bread or sugar. I’ve had a bad attitude and been super grumpy. At times I’m like, I will just stay fat bc I want sweets so lol – God is my help, I’m pressing on!

    Sent from my iPhone LIKE Us on Facebook ‘Healing H20’ http://www.healingh20.org

    >

  2. Oh good! You are such an inspiration to be a week in with sugar AND bread! You can do it, and I’m going to strive to be where you are with sugar and bread since bread just turns to sugar. Yes, I’m praying for you and with you!

  3. MJ, I pray that all is well. Things will get better! We just have to let go of the things that aren’t good for us and our walk with the Lord. He is so good and able to keep us during this process. I am praying for your continued strength. Hold on; your change will come!

Leave a Reply

